You are here: Home About SAAPS Research Committees

SAAPS Research Committees

Research Committee Convenor Affiliation Contact Details
Gender Professor Amanda Gouws Stellenbosch University ag1@sun.ac.za
South African Politics Professor Dirk Kotzé UNISA kotzedj@unisa.ac.za
Political Theory Professor Laurence Hamilton University of the Witwatersrand lawrence.hamilton@wits.ac.za
Teaching & Learning Professor Siphamandla Zondi University of Pretoria siphamandla.zondi@up.ac.za
  and Dr Ayesha Omar University of Johannesburg omarayesha@gmail.com
Middle East Politics Research Group Dr Lubna Nadvi University of KwaZulu-Natal nadvis@ukzn.ac.za
African Politics (International Relations and Political Economy) Prof Chris Isike  UNIZUL isikec@unzul.ac.za
Quality of Democracy Dr Fiona Anciano University of the Western Cape fanciano@uwc.ac.za
International Relations Dr Martha Bridgman SAIIA mbridgman@iafrica.com
  and Dr Yolanda Kemp-Spies University of Johannesburg ykspies@gmail.com

IPSA research committee (RC) objectives

  • Develop research in political science, especially work based on international co-operation;
  • Organize and maintain personal contacts among political scientists with common interests;
  • Disseminate information and publish scholarly research;
  • Provide a framework between individuals and organizations concerned with teaching and research in political and other social sciences.

SAAPS Research Committee Convenor core activities and responsibilities

  • Recruiting members from SAAPS and from outside too (so long as they also join SAAPS);
  • Organising meetings at the regional colloquia and national conference;
  • Ensuring panels at the regional colloquia and national conference;
  • Sharing news of key events, publications and developments relevant to the caucus;
  • Organising caucus colloquia or SAAPS between SAAPS conferences;
  • Organising publications (special editions for journals, edited books etc.);
  • Participating in similar international bodies, associations and conferences as caucus leadership.