You are here: Home About SAAPS Research Committees

SAAPS Research Committees

Research Committee

Committee Chair

Institutional affiliation

Email Address


Prof Amanda Gouws

Stellenbosch University

South African Politics

Prof Dirk Kotzé

University of South Africa

Political Theory

Prof Laurence Hamilton

University of the Witwatersrand

Teaching and Learning

Prof Sally Mathews

Rhodes University

Middle East and North Africa

Dr LubnaNadvi

University of KwaZulu-Natal

African Politics

Prof Chris Isike

University of Pretoria

Quality of Democracy

Dr Bhaso Ndzendze

University of Johannesburg

International Relations and Diplomacy

Dr Martha Bridgman

South African Association of International Affairs

Early-Career Research

Mr Ongama Mtimka

Nelson Mandela University

Research Ethics

Prof Vusi Gumede

University of Mpumalanga

IPSA research committee (RC) objectives

  • Develop research in political science, especially work based on international co-operation;
  • Organize and maintain personal contacts among political scientists with common interests;
  • Disseminate information and publish scholarly research;
  • Provide a framework between individuals and organizations concerned with teaching and research in political and other social sciences.

SAAPS Research Committee Convenor core activities and responsibilities

  • Recruiting members from SAAPS and from outside too (so long as they also join SAAPS);
  • Organising meetings at the regional colloquia and national conference;
  • Ensuring panels at the regional colloquia and national conference;
  • Sharing news of key events, publications and developments relevant to the caucus;
  • Organising caucus colloquia or SAAPS between SAAPS conferences;
  • Organising publications (special editions for journals, edited books etc.);
  • Participating in similar international bodies, associations and conferences as caucus leadership.